MetroGIS Regional Parcel Dataset (Year End 2008)

This dataset is a compilation of tax parcel polygon and point layers from the seven Twin Cities, Minnesota metropolitan area counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington. The seven counties were assembled into a common coordinate system. No attempt has been made to edgematch or rubbersheet between counties. A standard set of attribute fields is included for each county. (See section 5 of the metadata). The attributes are the same for the polygon and points layers. Not all attributes are populated for all counties.<br/><br/>The polygon layer contains one record for each real estate/tax parcel polygon within each county's parcel dataset. Some counties will polygons for each individual condominium, and others do not. (See Completeness in Section 2 of the metadata for more information.) The points layer includes the same attribute fields as the polygon dataset. The points are intended to provide information in situations where multiple tax parcels are represented by a single polygon. The primary example of this is the condominium. Condominiums, by definition, are legally owned as individual, taxed real estate units. Records for condominiums may not show up in the polygon dataset. The points for the point dataset often will be randomly placed or stacked within the parcel polygon with which they are associated. <br/><br/>The polygon layer is broken into individual county shape files. The points layer is one file for the entire metro area.<br/><br/>In many places a one-to-one relationship does not exist between these parcel polygons or points and the actual buildings or occupancy units that lie within them. There may be many buildings on one parcel and there may be many occupancy units (e.g. apartments, stores or offices) within each building. Additionally, no information exists within this dataset about residents of parcels. Parcel owner and taxpayer information exists for many, but not all counties.<br/><br/>Polygon and point counts for each county are as follows (based on the October 2008 dataset unless otherwise noted):<br/> <br/> polygons / points<br/>Anoka 129139 / 129138<br/>Carver 38134 / 38133<br/>Dakota 135925 / 150294<br/>Hennepin 422976 / 446623<br/>Ramsey 149169 / 168233<br/>Scott 55191 / 55191<br/>Washington 98915 / 103915<br/><br/>This is a MetroGIS Regionally Endorsed dataset. <br/><br/>Each of the seven Metro Area counties has entered into a multiparty agreement with the Metropolitan Council to assemble and distribute the parcel data for each county as a regional (seven county) parcel dataset.<br/><br/>A standard set of attribute fields is included for each county. The attributes are identical for the point and polygon datasets. Not all attributes fields are populated by each county. Detailed information about the attributes can be found in the <a href="" target=_blank>MetroGIS Regional Parcels Attributes 2008</a> document.<br/><br/>Additional information may be available in the individual metadata for each county at the links listed below. Also, any questions or comments about suspected errors or omissions in this dataset can be addressed to the contact person listed in the individual county metadata. <br/><br/>Anoka =<br/><br/>Caver = <br/><br/>Dakota =<br/><br/>Hennepin:<br/><br/>Ramsey =<br/><br/>Scott =<br/><br/>Washington =<br/>

Additional Info

Field Value
dsAccessConst None. This dataset is public domain under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes Chapter 13). If the dataset is not available from the Online Linkage in Section 6, please contact the Distribution Contact Person.
dsCurrentRef This dataset reflects the status of each county's parcel polygon and attribute database as of the following dates:

Anoka = 12/30/2008 for polygons and 12/16/2008 for attributes
Carver = 01/26/2009 for polygons and 01/26/2009 for attributes
Dakota = 01/22/2009 for polygons and 01/22/2009 for attributes
Hennepin = 01/01/2009 for polygons and 01/01/2009 for attributes
Ramsey = 01/05/2009 for polygons, attribute dates vary
Scott = 01/17/2009 for polygons and 01/17/2009 for attributes
Washington = 11/30/2008 for polygons and 11/30/2008 for attributes
dsModifiedDate 2019-11-23 02:41:10
dsOriginator Counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington
dsPeriodOfContent 12/31/2008
dsPurpose To view, analyze and display parcel data anywhere in the seven county metro area.
gdrsDsGuid {390f61f9-16a6-42d4-b26c-5f0de41e864a}
spatial {"type":"Polygon","coordinates":[[[-94.012, 44.471],[-94.012, 45.415], [-92.732, 45.415], [-92.732, 44.471], [-94.012, 44.471]]]}

Dataset extent

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors