Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Area

This the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) area for the Twin Cities. The shape covers the 7 county area as well as the urbanized area that extends beyond the 7 county area.<br/><br/>Under state law, the Met Council's jurisdiction covers the 7 county area - Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington counties.<br/><br/>Under federal rules, the MPO must plan for the entire urbanized area, which is a Census defined area. After the 2010 Census, the urbanized area for the Twin Cities extended beyond the 7 county area into Wright and Sherburne counties.<br/><br/>Thus, for the first time, the MPO jurisdiction area for the Met Council needed to extend beyond the 7 counties. <br/><br/>Working with MnDOT, the census defined urbanized area was smoothed and this data file was the officially accepted MPO area for the Twin Cities. <br/>

Additional Info

Field Value
dsAccessConst None. This dataset is public domain under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes Chapter 13). If the dataset is not available from the Online Linkage in Section 6, please contact the Distribution Contact Person.
dsModifiedDate 2020-11-19 00:14:41
dsOriginator Metropolitan Transportation Services - Metropolitan Council
dsPeriodOfContent 2/15/2017
dsPurpose To delineate the extent of the Metropolitan Planning Organization Area
gdrsDsGuid {3a1fb22d-e52c-4603-8bae-d60c0b7f3fe1}
spatial {"type":"Polygon","coordinates":[[[-94.012, 44.471],[-94.012, 45.415], [-92.732, 45.415], [-92.732, 44.471], [-94.012, 44.471]]]}

Dataset extent

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors