Ecological Sections of Minnesota

This coverage provides information for all three levels of the Ecological Classification System (ECS): Provinces, Sections, and Subsections. The boundaries of the polygons of this coverage were derived from Land Type Association (LTA) delineations that were compiled from a visual/interpretive process using Topography, Wetlands, Surficial Geology, Soils, Landsat Imagery and Climatic conditions.

Additional Info

Field Value
dsAccessConst None
dsCurrentRef The ECS polygons were delineated during part of the process of identifying Land Type Associations in 1997-1998 and are a refinement of the original ECS
dsModifiedDate 2022-09-01 01:53:51
dsOriginator Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR)
dsPurpose This dataset can be used for a variety of planning activities and education.
gdrsDsGuid {818700bd-07b1-418a-96f6-e0600f9b24e0}
spatial {"type":"Polygon","coordinates":[[[-96.833072, 43.435392],[-96.833072, 49.348244], [-89.397037, 49.348244], [-89.397037, 43.435392], [-96.833072, 43.435392]]]}

Dataset extent

Tiles © Esri — Esri, DeLorme, NAVTEQ, TomTom, Intermap, iPC, USGS, FAO, NPS, NRCAN, GeoBase, Kadaster NL, Ordnance Survey, Esri Japan, METI, Esri China (Hong Kong), and the GIS User Community