Historic Mississippi River Corridor Critical Area (MRCCA) Executive Order 79-19 Districts

This map delineates the boundary of the Mississippi River Corridor Critical Area (MRCCA) and its four land use districts as designated under Executive Order 79-19 (EO 79-19). These districts were in place from 1976 until 2017, when EO 79-19 was superseded by Minnesota Rules, chapter 6106. <br/><br/>The MRCCA is a land corridor along the Mississippi River in the seven-county metro area in which special land use regulations guide development activity. The corridor extends 72 miles along the Mississippi River from the cities of Ramsey and Dayton in the north to the City of Hastings and Ravenna Township in the south. It includes 54,000 acres of land along both sides of the river. The State of Minnesota created the corridor and land use regulations in 1976. Local governments administer the regulations through their local plans and zoning ordinances. <br/><br/>The MRCCA is home to a full range of residential neighborhoods and parks, as well as river-related commerce, industry, and transportation. Though the MRCCA has been extensively developed, many intact and remnant natural areas remain, including bluffs, islands, floodplains, wetlands, riparian zones, and native aquatic and terrestrial flora and fauna. <br/><br/>EO-79-19 established four districts, each with dimensional standards for river and bluff setbacks, and building height. The purpose of this map is to delineate the physical boundaries for each of these four historic districts.

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated May 6, 2017, 10:02
Created May 6, 2017, 10:02
dsAccessConst None
dsCurrentRef The four districts delineated in this map were superseded by six new districts in Minnesota Rules, chapter 6106, which became effective on January 4, 2017.
dsMetadataUrl ftp://ftp.gisdata.mn.gov/pub/gdrs/data/pub/us_mn_state_dnr/bdry_mrcca_eo_79_19/metadata/metadata.html
dsModifiedDate 2017-05-05 23:43:09
dsOriginator National Park Service
dsPurpose The purpose of this map is to delineate the physical boundaries of each of the four MRCCA districts identified in EO 79-19, which include the following:<br/>- Rural Open Space District<br/>- Urban Developed District<br/>- Urban Diversified District<br/>- Urban Open Space District<br/><br/>This map served as the "authoritative source" for the historic MRCCA districts under EO 79-19.

Dataset extent