Counties and Cities & Townships 2010, Twin Cities Metropolitan Area

This is a polygon dataset for county boundaries as well as for city, township and unorganized territory (CTU) boundaries in the Twin Cities 7-county metropolitan area. It is being held static as of April, 2010 for use with Census data and other year 2010 data. The linework for this dataset comes from individual counties and is assembled by the Metropolitan Council for the MetroGIS community.<br/><br/> This dataset is composed of three shape files. <br/>- County Boundaries - 2010<br/>- City and Township Boundaries - 2010<br/>- County, City and Township Boundaries Combined - 2010<br/><br/>NOTES:<br/><br/>- The five digit CTU codes in this dataset are identical to the Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) ''Place'' codes. They are also used by the Census Bureau and many other organizations and are proposed as a MN state data coding standard.<br/><br/>- Cities and townships have also been referred to as ''MCDs'' (a census term), however this term technically refers to the part of each city or township within a single county. Thus, a few cities in the metro area that are split by county boundaries are actually comprised of two different MCDs. This was part of the impetus for a proposed MN state data standard that uses the ''CTU'' terminology for clarity.<br/><br/>- The boundary line data for this dataset comes from each county.<br/><br/>- A variety of civil divisions of the land exist within the United States. In Minnesota, only three types exist - cities, townships and unorganized territories. All three of these exist within the Twin Cities seven county area. The only unorganized territory is Fort Snelling (a large portion of which is occupied by the MSP International Airport).<br/><br/>- Some cities are split between two counties. Only those parts of cities within the 7-county area are included.

Additional Info

Field Value
dsAccessConst None. This dataset is public domain under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes Chapter 13). If the dataset is not available from the Online Linkage in Section 6, please contact the Distribution Contact Person.
dsCurrentRef Data are intended to reflect county, city and township boundary changes (annexation, etc.) as of the Time Period of Content date above. All counties report their data to be current as approximately that date.

Please note that municipal boundaries can change through several different processes, involving different organizations. County staff are not always notifiied of boundary changes in a timely manner. If you are aware of boundary changes that are not reflected in this dataset, please notify the contact person in Section 1 of this metadata.
dsModifiedDate 2020-11-20 00:23:39
dsOriginator The Counties of Anoka, Dakota, Carver, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott and Washington and the Metropolitan Council
dsPeriodOfContent 4/1/2010
dsPurpose This dataset was developed to be used for many purposes including a variety of analysis and query tasks that relate to counties, cities and townships, and as a general municipal boundary base layer.
gdrsDsGuid {54186d8a-e449-43a2-95c0-7fb7ffdc8919}
spatial {"type":"Polygon","coordinates":[[[-94.012, 44.471],[-94.012, 45.415], [-92.732, 45.415], [-92.732, 44.471], [-94.012, 44.471]]]}

Dataset extent

Tiles © Esri — Esri, DeLorme, NAVTEQ, TomTom, Intermap, iPC, USGS, FAO, NPS, NRCAN, GeoBase, Kadaster NL, Ordnance Survey, Esri Japan, METI, Esri China (Hong Kong), and the GIS User Community