Areas of Concentrated Poverty

The Metropolitan Council defines Areas of Concentrated Poverty (ACPs) as census tracts where 40% or more of the residents have family or individual incomes that are less than 185% of the federal poverty threshold. (In 2017, 185% of the federal poverty threshold was $46,424 for a family of four or $23,103 for an individual living alone.) Some census tracts that meet this poverty threshold have a large share of college or graduate students; we exclude these census tracts from our defined Areas of Concentrated Poverty.<br/><br/>To identify areas where people of color experience the most exposure to concentrated poverty, the Council further differentiates Areas of Concentrated Poverty where 50% or more of the residents are people of color (ACP50s).<br/><br/>Note that the Metropolitan Council's Areas of Concentrated Poverty are different from the U.S Department of Housing and Urban Development's Racially / Ethnically Concentrated Areas of Poverty. <br/>

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated December 12, 2018, 11:03
Created August 5, 2015, 10:01
dsAccessConst None
dsCurrentRef These tables are based on the 2013-2017 five-year ACS estimates.<br/>Please contact Matt Schroeder (contact information below) for historical data tables.
dsModifiedDate 2018-12-12 00:26:35
dsOriginator Metropolitan Council
dsPurpose Identify and analyze various social and demographic data within and outside the spatially defined areas.

Dataset extent