Metropolitan Council Districts 2013

This layer defines the district boundaries for the Metropolitan Council members.<br/><br/>NOTES:<br/>- The current Metropolitan Council Districts were enacted in 2013.<br/>- Council member names and spellings are taken directly from the Metropolitan Council web site and press releases.<br/>- Hanover, New Prague, Northfield, and Rockford have been removed from the district boundaries.<br/>- Only the cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul have significant populations split into more than one Council District. Chanhassen, Hastings and Spring Lake Park have small areas accross county boundaries in another Council district.<br/>- The actual descriptions of Metropolitan Council District boundaries were taken from Minnesota Statutes 2012, 473.123<br/>- Adjustments for district boundaries that fall on city/township boundaries are updated on a quarterly basis with data from counties.<br/>-The 2013 plan files, details and components passed by the 2013 MN Legislature can be found at<br/>-For the map and data available from the Metropolitan Council, district boundaries were adjusted to conform to existing geography employed by the Metropolitan Council.

Additional Info

Field Value
Last Updated April 24, 2019, 10:03
Created August 7, 2015, 10:01
dsAccessConst None. This dataset is public domain under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act (Minnesota Statutes Chapter 13). If the dataset is not available from the Online Linkage in Section 6, please contact the Distribution Contact Person.
dsCurrentRef The attributes and municipal boundaries within this layer are up to date as of the Time Period of Content date. The current boundaries were set by redistricting legislation in 2013 and are kept up to date with minor adjustments to city/township boundary changes on an as-needed basis.
dsModifiedDate 2019-04-23 23:55:12
dsOriginator Metropolitan Council
dsPeriodOfContent 4/1/2019
dsPurpose This layer was developed as a general reference for Metropolitan Council districts.

Dataset extent